SYMPOSIUM SCHEDULE

Multiferroic/Magnetoelectric Sensors, Antennas, and Energy Harvesting Devices

Day 1 | Tuesday, February 2

9:00am PST
(UTC-8)
12:00pm EST (UTC-5)

Welcome/Overview
Gregory Carman, TANMS Engineering Research Center/UCLA

SESSION I | RF Devices (Chair: Adi Jung)

9:10am PST
12:10pm EST

Review of Mechanical Antenna Approaches
James Bickford, Draper Laboratory

9:35am PST
12:35pm EST

Characterization of Electrically Small Antennas for Pacemaker Applications
Rashaunda Henderson, University of Texas at Dallas

10:00am PST
1:00pm EST

VIBRational ANTennas (VIBRANT) for Long Wave Applications
David Shahan, HRL Laboratories

10:25am PST
1:25pm EST

Optimizing magnetoelastic antennas and the impact of magnetostatic interactions on antenna arrays
John Domann, Virginia Tech

10:50am PST
1:50pm EST

BREAK

SESSION II | Wireless Technologies (Chair: Emily Burnside)

11:00am PST
2:00pm EST

Low Frequency Wireless Power Transfer for Biomedical Implants Using Magnetoelectric Receivers
Shad Roundy, University of Utah

11:25am PST
2:25pm EST

Passive wireless strain sensors based upon giant magnetostrictive effects
Gavin Chang, HRL Laboratories

11:50am PST
2:50pm EST

Multiferroics-based Wireless Energy Transfer Technology: Current and Future Perspectives
George Youssef, San Diego State University

12:15pm PST
3:15pm EST

Wirelessly Powered Sensors and Actuators
Aydin Babakhani, University of California, Los Angeles

12:40pm PST
3:40pm EST

Day 1 Close

Day 2 | Wednesday, February 3

SESSION III | RF Devices II (Chair: Adrian Acosta)

9:00am PST (UTC-8)
12:00pm EST (UTC-5)

Multiferroic Laminate Antennas for Power and Data Telemetry for Wearable Applications
Pawan Gaire, Florida International University

9:25am PST
12:25pm EST

Ultracompact Magnetoelectric Mechanical Antennas from VLF to UHF
Nian Sun, Northeastern University

9:50am PST
12:50pm EST

Stacked Magnetic Pendulum Array (MPA) for Efficient ULF Transmission
Ethan Wang, University of California, Los Angeles

10:15am PST
1:15pm EST

Ferroelectric domain wall variant-engineered dielectric meta-materials
Jonathan Spanier, Drexel University

10:40am PST
1:40pm EST

BREAK

SESSION IV | Actuators and Sensors (Chair: Maggie Xiao)

10:50am PST
1:50pm EST

Magnetoelectric Magnetic Field Sensors 
Eckhardt Quandt, Kiel University

11:15am PST
2:15pm EST

Magneto-electric Solution to Solid State Devices for Efficient Signal and Power Processing
Dwight Viehland, Virginia Tech

11:40am PST
2:40pm EST

Magnetoelastic effects in MEMS resonators for magnetic field sensors
Margo Staruch, Naval Research Laboratory

12:05pm PST
3:05pm EST

Acoustically Driven Ferromagnetic Resonance for Biomagnetic Sensing
Dominic Labanowski, Sonera Magnetics Inc. 

12:30pm PST
3:30pm EST

Magnetomechanical characterization of 2–2 type epoxy-bonded metallic glass composites for power conversion application
Xin Zhuang, Chinese Academy of Sciences

12:55pm PST
3:55pm EST

Day 2 Close

Day 3 | Thursday, February 4

SESSION V | Materials (Chair: Shreya Patel)

9:00am PST (UTC-8)
12:00pm EST (UTC-5)

Directional field sensing in nonlinear clamped magnetoelectric beam oscillators
Sam Lofland, Rowan University

9:25am PST
12:25pm EST

High Entropy Alloys and Additive Manufacturing as Potential Next Steps for Magnetostrictive Materials
Nicholas Jones, Naval Surface Warfare Center

9:50am PST
12:50pm EST

Fabrication and Testing Issues for Nanoscale Terfenol-D structures 
Gregory Carman, University of California, Los Angeles

10:15am PST
1:15pm EST

Dynamic response of Fe-Ga for multiferroic magnetic field transmitters
Peter Finkel, Naval Research Laboratory

10:40am PST
1:40pm EST

Linear and nonlinear magnetoelectric effects and applications for RF sensors and devices
Gopalan Srinivasan, Oakland University

11:05am PST
2:05pm EST

Multiferroic Control of Magnetic Domains for Life Science Applications
Robert Candler, University of California, Los Angeles

11:30am PST
2:30pm EST

BREAK

11:40am PST
2:40pm EST

E-Poster Session

12:40pm PST
3:40pm EST

Symposium Close



Magnetoelectric Driven Spintronics

Day 1 | Tuesday, February 9

9:00am PST
(UTC-8)
12:00pm EST
(UTC-5)

Welcome/Overview
Gregory Carman, TANMS Engineering Research Center/UCLA; Jian-Ping Wang, SMART Center/University of Minnesota

SESSION I | Devices (Chair: Alexandria Will-Cole)

9:10am PST
12:10pm EST

How Technology Transfers into the Defense Industry: Implications for Advanced Microelectronics in the Future of National Security
Mike Burkland, Raytheon Missiles and Defense

9:35am PST
12:35pm EST

Advances in STT-MRAM for Embedded Memory Applications
Jing Zhang, Avalanche Technology

10:00am PST
1:00pm EST

Metrology for emerging spintronic devices
Daniel Gopman, National Institute of Standards and Technology

10:25am PST
1:25pm EST

Magnetoelectric quantum spintronics
Pramey Upadhaya, Purdue University

10:50am PST
1:50pm EST

BREAK

SESSION II | Spintronics (Chair: Malcom Jackson)

11:00am PST
2:00pm EST

Recent progress and challenges in topological Spintronics for energy efficiency and high frequency
Kang Wang, University of California, Los Angeles

11:25am PST
2:25pm EST

Spin current controlled magnetism in metallic and oxide heterostructures
Eric Fullerton, University of California, San Diego

11:50am PST
2:50pm EST

Magneto-electric spin-orbit (MESO) device for energy-efficient logic beyond CMOS
Chia-Ching Lin, Intel Corp.

12:15pm PST
3:15pm EST

From multifunction of spintronic devices to novel spin-orbit torque materials 
Jian-Ping Wang, University of Minnesota

12:40pm PST
3:40pm EST

Damping of Magnetization Dynamics in Magneto-elastic Materials
Paul Crowell, University of Minnesota

1:05pm PST
4:05pm EST

Day 1 Close

Day 2 | Wednesday, February 10

SESSION III | Modeling (Chair: Matthew McIntosh)

9:00am PST
(UTC-8)
12:00pm EST
(UTC-5)

Crystalline Order Dependent Spin-Orbit Torque in Sputter Deposited Topological Insulator Bi2Te3/NiFe Heterostructures
Nirjhar Bhattacharjee, Northeastern University

9:25am PST
12:25pm EST

Artificial nano-granular heterostructures: fundamentals and applications
Oleg Udalov, California State University, Northridge

9:50am PST
12:50pm EST

Electric Field Control of Magnetism in Magnetoelectric Devices: Opportunities and Challenges
Nicholas Kioussis, California State University, Northridge

10:15am PST
1:15pm EST

Modeling voltage induced spin reorientation in antiferromagnetic materials
Gregory Carman, University of California, Los Angeles

10:40am PST
1:40pm EST

Voltage control of nanoscale magnetism: Spintronic memory and neuromorphic computing
Jayasimha Atulasimha, Virginia Commonwealth University

11:05am PST
2:05pm EST

BREAK

SESSION IV | Materials (Chair: Jeff Kurish)

11:15am PST
2:15pm EST

Iron garnets for magnetoelectric spintronics
Caroline Ross, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

11:40am PST
2:40pm EST

Solution Phase Routes to Nanostructured Multiferroic Materials
Sarah Tolbert, University of California, Los Angeles

12:05pm PST
3:45pm EST

Topological Insulators with Layered Tetradymite Structure under the Microscope
Andre Mkhoyan, University of Minnesota

12:30pm PST
3:30pm EST

Multilayering of FeGa/NiFe films as magnetically soft magnetostrictive composites
Adrian Acosta, University of California, Los Angeles 

12:55pm PST
3:55pm EST

Day 2 Close

Day 3 | Thursday, February 11

SESSION V | Spin Wave (Chair: Michael Guevara de Jesus)

9:00am PST
(UTC-8)
12:00pm EST
(UTC-5)

Multiferroic spin-wave launchers for spintronics based on magnetostrictive Fe0.7Ga0.3 thin films
Ichiro Takeuchi, University of Maryland

9:25am PST
12:25pm EST

Spin-wave propagation and non-reciprocity in metallic ferromagnets
Hans Nembach, National Institute of Standards and Technology

9:50am PST
12:50pm EST

Electrical generation of spin currents
Andrew Kent, New York University

10:15am PST
1:15pm EST

Impact of Nonlinear Processes on Magnon (Spin-Wave) Propagation
Randall Victora, University of Minnesota

10:40am PST
1:40pm EST

BREAK

SESSION VI | Magnetic Control (Chair: Bingqian Dai)

10:50am PST
1:50pm EST

Magneto-Ionic Control of Magnetism
Geoff Beach, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

11:15am PST
2:15pm EST

Voltage controlled Néel vector rotation in zero magnetic field
Christian Binek, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

11:40am PST
2:40pm EST

Magnon induced magnetic domain wall motion
Luqiao Liu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

12:05am PST
3:05pm EST

BREAK

12:15am PST
3:15pm EST

E-Poster Session

1:15pm PST
4:15pm EST

Symposium Close